Library Foundation committees help guide Foundation staff and Board of Trustees action. If you have questions about committee service, contact Library Foundation Chief of Staff Jerry Tomaszewicz.

Advocacy & Policy Committee

Scott Burton
Community Volunteer

Elizabeth Hansen
, Southwest Strategies

Katherine Johnston
Community Volunteer

Misty Jones
Library Director
, San Diego Public Library

Ann McDonald
Immediate Past President,
Friends of the San Diego Public Library

Magdalena Pulham
Community Volunteer

Joan Reese
Past President
, Friends of the San Diego Public Library

Steve Schmal
Community Volunteer

Pat Wilson
, Friends of San Diego Public Library
Equine Law Attorney

Audit Committee

Janice Charley, Chair

Greg Gleeson
Community Volunteer

Faye Hunter
Retired Partner
, Latham & Watkins LLP

Denis Ragen
Community Volunteer

Lee Winslett
Community Volunteer

Finance Committee

Bryan Carpenter, Chair
, San Diego Brewers Guild

Raul Gudino
Deputy Director,
Library Operations, San Diego Public Library

Steve Hermes
CPA, retired

George Lai
Community Volunteer

Bill Pope
Former Owner, John Burnham Insurance Services

Kara Siegel
Community Volunteer

Katie Sullivan
Community Volunteer

Allyson Tutor
CPA, CapinCrouse LLP

Governance Committee

Judith Wenker, Chair
Attorney, retired

Nancy Carol Carter
Community Volunteer

Matt Learned
Partner, For Purpose Law Group

Renée Schor
, Schor Vogelzang & Chung LLP

Pat Wilson
, Friends of San Diego Public Library
Equine Law Attorney

Marketing & Communications Committee

Melissa Peterman, Chair
Executive Director
, Townspeople

Teresa Contreras
Director of Development
, Catholic Extension, Southwest region

Michael Cox
Owner and Publisher
, The Official Black Magazine

Ingrid de Llamas
Director of Philanthropy & External Relations
, Epilepsy Foundation

Kersten Deck
Director of Grants & Donor Communications
, Planned Parenthood of the Pacific Southwest

Ady Huertas (pronouns: she/​ella)
Program Manager of Youth, Family, & Equity Services
, San Diego Public Library

Gail Levin
Community Volunteer

Sitara Sethi
, Foundation for Developmental Disabilities

Kristy Totten
Corporate Communications Manager
, San Diego Tourism Authority

Sam Yoeuth
Community Volunteer

Nominating Committee

Ruth Bush, Chair

Ingrid de Llamas
Director of Philanthropy & External Relations, Epilepsy Foundation

Judith Wenker
Attorney, retired

Interested in volunteer service?

The Library Foundation is looking for volunteers who are passionate about the Library and ready to assist us in our mission to support excellence in the Library system. There are currently openings on several committees and committee participation is a potential step to Board service. We are especially looking for diverse voices from communities not currently represented in our organization. Complete the information below and we will contact you with more information.

Your Name

Please include your first and last name.

PDF, Word, text, Excel, or image files accepted